Shiva's Headband ‎– Take Me To The Mountains -1969- psychedelic rock (Clearance Vinyl) Note Album Condition


Shiva's Headband ‎– Take Me To The Mountains -1969- psychedelic rock (Rare Vinyl) Note Album Condition - Soooo rare !

stock photo only - NOTE FRONT COVER IS GONE - WATER DAMAGE but vinyl is great !

Sleeve Condition (Out of 10)  FRONT COVER IS GONE - WATER DAMAGE

Label Condition (Out of 10) ~  side 2 water damaged as well
Vinyl Condition ~ (Out of 10) 
Side 1 - 8 slight marks
side 2 -
8 slight marks

BIN clearance

Note Album Condition -hard to price , but can't  let it go - such a find.

Shiva’s Headband (or Shiva's Head Band), an early Texas psychedelic rock band, formed in Austin in 1967. The group was the house band at the Vulcan Gas Company, a late 1960s Austin nightclub. The band is credited with a significant role in the founding of the Armadillo World Headquarters. The band's first royalty check opened the club and hired Eddie Wilson as manager. Shiva's Headband was also the first band to perform there. Throughout the 1960s and early 1970s, the band played with touring acts such as Spirit, Steppenwolf, ZZ Top, Janis Joplin, Canned Heat and Steve Miller. Austin psychedelic bands contemporary to Shiva's Headband included the 13th Floor Elevators and The Conqueroo. 

Shiva's Headband's Capitol Records album, Take Me To The Mountains, produced by bandleader Spencer Perskin with Fred Catero, became the first record released nationally by an Austin-based rock band. The album cover featured artwork by Jim Franklin. In 1973, the band had an onscreen performance in the film, The Thief Who Came to Dinner, a Houston-based production that starred Ryan O'Neal and Jacqueline Bisset. 

In 1999, long-time bandleader Spencer Perskin was voted " Austin's Old hippie ” at the Eeyore's Birthday Party, an annual Austin rite of spring. In 2005, Spencer Perskin released the recording, Magic Feather again with artwork by Jim Franklin. The band still performs in Austin, using the name Shiva's Headband Experience. 

Label:Capitol Records ‎– ST 538
Format:Vinyl, LP, Album 


A1 My Baby 3:30
A2 Take Me To The Mountains 3:31
A3 Homesick Armadillo Blues 2:37
A4 Ripple 3:59
A5 Song For Peace 4:40
B1 Ebeneezer 2:52
B2 North Austin Strut 3:00
B3 Come With Me 5:04
B4 Good Time 3:05
B5 Kaleidoscoptic 3:26

Related products



Sold Out