Carmen ‎– Fandangos In Space - 1974 - Classic Rock (vinyl)


Carmen  ‎– Fandangos In Space - 1974 - Classic Rock (vinyl)

stock photo only

Carmen was a British-American band active from 1970-75. Their style was a fusion of rock music and flamenco music and dance. While the band achieved some success in recording and performance, its greatest significance lies in later contributions of its members to more famous rock groups.

Carmen's first album, Fandangos in Space, was ranked number 46 in the Rolling Stone list of 50 Greatest Prog Rock Albums of All Time.[1]


The group was founded by David Clark Allen, a Mexican/American Californian trained in flamenco guitar. Originally a seven-member band in Los Angeles, USA, the band in the early seventies relocated to London, England, where the personnel soon stabilized as a quintet.

In London, they became friendly with several rock stars of the time, including David Bowie. Marc Bolan, and Bryan Ferry. Obtaining the services of producer Tony Visconti, Carmen released three albums: Fandangos in Space (1973), Dancing on a Cold Wind (1974), and The Gypsies (1975). By early 1975, the band was enjoying its greatest success, playing as an opening act at concerts by Santana, Blue Öyster Cult, and Electric Light Orchestra, and touring for three months as the opener for Jethro Tull. A series of unfortunate events then occurred while the group was recording The Gypsies at Longview Farm. Paul Fenton seriously damaged his knee, stopping his career as a drummer for many years. Carmen and Tony Visconti ended their musical relationship, and the band's manager left. Carmen disbanded shortly after finishing their last album in 1975.

Label:Paramount Records ‎– PAS - 1044
Format:Vinyl, LP
Sleeve Condition (Out of 10) ~ 8 slight wear and a drill hole in cover
Label Condition (Out of 10) ~ 10
Vinyl Condition ~ (Out of 10)
Side 1 -10
side 2 - 10
BIN # 66


A1 Bulerias (A: Cante, B : Baile, C: Reprise) 5:10
A2 Bullfight 4:06
A3 Stepping Stone 3:45
A4 Sailor Song 4:07
A5 Lonely House 3:54
B1 Por Tarantos 1:40
B2 Looking Outside My Window ( A: Theme, B: Zorongo, C: Finale ) 7:10
B3 Tales Of Spain 5:10
B4 Retirando 2:07
B5 Fandangos In Space 4:23
B6 Reprise - Finale 2:52

Related products



Sold Out