Michael Stanley Band ‎– Heartland -1980 Classic Rock (vinyl)


Michael Stanley Band ‎– Heartland -1980 Classic Rock (vinyl)

stock photo only

The Michael Stanley Band was formed by Stanley in 1974 with singer-songwriter–lead guitarist Jonah Koslen, former Glass Harp bassist Daniel Pecchio and drummer Tommy Dobeck from the band Circus. There were several personnel changes over the years and by 1982 the group had evolved into a seven-piece band.

Nicknamed MSB by their fans, the band set several attendance records at Cleveland area venues including a record 20,320 at the Richfield Coliseum on July 20, 1979[4] and a record 40,529 for two Coliseum concerts on December 31, 1981 and January 1, 1982. The band's greatest achievement was a total attendance of 74,404 during a four-night stand at Blossom Music Center on August 25, 26, 30 and 31, 1982.[5]

The group reached the peak of their popularity nationally in 1981 when the single "He Can't Love You" from the album Heartland (written and sung by keyboardist Kevin Raleigh) made the Top 40 (#33 Billboard, #27 Cash Box) and "In the Heartland" from the album North Coast went to #6 on Billboard's Top Tracks chart. Their video for "He Can't Love You" was the 47th video ever played on MTV.[6] The band's last Top 40 hit was "My Town" in 1983.

The band called it quits in 1986 with a series of twelve farewell shows at the Front Row Theatre during the 1986–87 holiday season. Since then, Stanley has performed regularly throughout Northeast Ohio with former members of MSB and with his latest band, the Resonators.[7]


  • Michael Stanley – guitar, vocals
  • Jonah Koslen – lead guitar, vocals (1974–77)
  • Daniel Pecchio – bass, vocals (1974–79)
  • Tommy Dobeck – drums
  • Bob Pelander – keyboards (1976–87)
  • Gary Markasky – lead guitar (1978–83)
  • Kevin Raleigh – keyboards, vocals (1978–87)
  • Michael Gismondi – bass (1979–87)
  • Rick Bell – saxophone (1982–84)
  • Danny Powers – lead guitar (1983–87)
Label:EMI America ‎– SW-17040
Format:Vinyl, LP, Album
Sleeve Condition (Out of 10) ~ 9 edge wear open side / with inner sleeve
Label Condition (Out of 10) ~ 10
Vinyl Condition ~ (Out of 10)
Side 1 - 10
side 2 - 10
BIN # *56


A1 I'll Never Need Anyone More (Than I Need You Tonight) 3:15
A2 Lover 4:52
A3 Don't Stop The Music 3:38
A4 He Can't Love You 3:35
A5 Working Again 3:55
B1 All I Ever Wanted 3:08
B2 Say Goodbye 3:26
B3 Hearts On Fire 2:47
B4 Voodoo 4:30
B5 Carolyn 2:59
B6 Save A Little Piece For Me 3:17

Related products



Sold Out