Messenjah ‎– Cool Operator 1987 Reggae (vinyl)


Messenjah ‎– Cool Operator 1987 Reggae

stock photo only

Label:Version Records INC. ‎– VLP-001
Format:Vinyl, LP, Album 

Sleeve Condition (Out of 10) ~ 10 
Label Condition (Out of 10) ~ 10
Vinyl Condition ~ (Out of 10)
Side 1 - 10
side 2 - 10
in awesome shape  !
BIN * 20/ *30

Messenjah began their climb to fame in 1980 in Kitchener, Ontario and released their first album Rock You High independently in 1982. They were the first Canadian reggae band to be picked up by a major label; Warner Music Canada (also known as WEA). After 1985 the band began working out of Toronto. In 1988 the band was featured in the U.S. feature film Cocktail as well as on the film's soundtrack. They were also featured on the soundtrack of the Canadian produced movie Milk and Honey (1989). Messenjah had toured all over North America as well as in Jamaica for over sixteen years and in 1989 won theJuno Award for Best Reggae Recording.

In 1991 they collaborated on the one-off single "Can't Repress the Cause", a plea for greater inclusion of hip hop music in the Canadian music scene, with Dance Appeal, a supergroup of Toronto-area musicians that included Devon, Maestro Fresh Wes, Dream Warriors, B-Kool, Lillian Allen, Michie Mee, Eria Fachin, HDV, Dionne, Thando Hyman, Carla Marshall, Jillian Mendez, Lorraine Scott, Lorraine Segato, Self Defense, Leroy Sibbles, Zama and Thyron Lee White.[1]

Messenjah has not released an album since the late 1990s, and it is assumed the group disbanded around that time.

The band was originally started by Errol Blackwood (vocals, bass guitar), who left after 1986 to start a solo career, and Rupert "Ojiji" Harvey (vocals, guitar, saxophone).[2][3] After Errol Blackwood's departure Harvey became the head of the group. Other original band members include Eric Walsh (guitar), Raymond Ruddock (drums), Hal Duggan (keyboard) and Tony King (percussion). Four new members joined in 1987; Roy Garrick (drums), Crash Morgan (drums), Charles Sinclair (bass guitar) and Haile Yeates (percussion). Finally, in 1990 Donovan Black (drums) replaced drummer Crash Morgan.

In February 2014, the band reunited for a Bob Marley tribute concert in Toronto.[4] The band now consists of Rupert Harvey(lead vocals,guitar and founding member) Haile Yates(Percussion) Robert Stephenson (Drums) Carl Harvey(lead guitar) Charles Sinclair(Bass)and Orville Malcomb(keyboards).

A1 Cool Operator 5:22
A2 Crazy 4:10
A3 It's You 4:10
A4 Summer In The Winter 4:34
B1 Emanuelle Road 4:20
B2 Way Oh 3:20
B3 Night Rider 3:40
B4 Glory Trail 4:21
B5 Angels 4:25

Related products



Sold Out